Lawan reads Buhari’s letter on ex-service chiefs’ appointment as ambassadors


Sunday Aborisade, Abuja

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday, read a letter from the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), urging the red chamber to confirm the immediate former chief of defence staff, and other service chiefs as ambassadors.

The nominees are, General Abayomi Olonisakin, the former service chiefs – Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai (Army), Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe (Navy); Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Air force).

READ  Reps to screen new service chiefs Wednesday

READ ALSO: Senate receives Buhari’s request to confirm service chiefs

The President in the letter also sought the confirmation of Air Vice Marshal Muhammad S. Usman (Rtd) as a non-career ambassador-designate.

The request was contained in a letter dated 4th February, 2021.

ALSO READ: Digital rights lawyers sue CBN, SEC over cryptocurrency prohibition

Buhari said the appointment was duly carried out in accordance to section 171(1),(2)(c) and sub-section (4) of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

READ  Inter-agency rivalry, envy fuelling insecurity in Nigeria — NSCDC CG

The former CDS and service chiefs, had on 26th January, 2021, tendered their resignation from the service of the military.

The President, following receipt and approval of their resignation, appointed a new CDS and service chiefs to replace them.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE: Buhari justifies construction of rail line linking Niger Republic

The newly appointed CDS and Service Chiefs are, Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral AZ Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply